This site has been optimized to work with modern browsers and does not fully support your version of Internet Explorer.

Charity governance

About the Oxford Academic Health Partners Charity

The Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO), Oxford Academic Health Partners (OAHP), was established in 2017 to provide the AHSC with an independent vehicle for delivery against strategic initiatives agreed by the partnership. In addition, this CIO provides a platform for formal interaction with stakeholders through the ability to grant associate member status.

OAHP is a separate legal entity from each of its corporate trustees (Oxford University Hospitals NHS FT, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford Health NHS FT and the University of Oxford) and has therefore legal independence from them and can act independently. However, the governance structure ensures that the Charity and the Health Innovation Oxford and Thames Valley remain closely linked such that the benefit of the resources that Health Innovation has at its disposal are available to OAHP.

OAHP is regulated by the Charity Commission (Charity number 1174725) and has an approved charitable constitution that can be found here.

Activities of OAHP

OAHP was established with the explicit aim of providing a vehicle that could contract on behalf of its Trustees to advance health by research, clinical care, education and training to provide solutions so that clinical research breakthroughs lead to direct clinical benefits.

As a Charity that is intending to interact with the higher education sector and health and social care providers, the preferred route to provide funding is through making grants. OAHP will make grants to individuals and to organisations through a standard and non-negotiable set of grant conditions that will be published on the OAHP website.

In addition to providing grant funding, OAHP is permitted to:
• provide services; and
• act as an umbrella or resource body

Charity Board Membership

The Governance arrangements for the charity as are follows:

Chairman of Board of Trustees

Professor Sir John Bell GBE FRS FMedSci FREng, Regius Professor of Medicine at the University of Oxford, and Chairman of Office for the Strategic Coordination of Health Research.

Board of Trustees

  • Dr Nick Broughton – CEO Oxford Health NHS FT
  • Professor Meghana Pandit – CEO Oxford University Hospitals NHS FT Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor Linda King – PVC for Research and Global Partnerships, Oxford Brookes University
  • Professor Gavin Screaton – FMedSci – Professor of Medicine and Head of the Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford.

Board of Representatives

  • Professor Keith Channon FMedSci FRCP – Trustee Representative for OUH
  • Professor John Geddes – Trustee Representative for OH
  • Professor David Evans – Trustee Representative for Oxford Brookes University
  • Professor Helen McShane – Trustee Representative for the University of Oxford

Executive Team

  • Dr Sara Ward – Chief Executive
  • Dr Ryan Pink – Company Secretary
  • Mrs Megan Turmezei – Director of Fundraising and Secretary to AHSC Board
  • Dr Nick De Pennington – CIO

The Awards Committee
Board of Trustee Representatives plus the CEO and Company Secretary.